Paranormal Book Review: Guilt Trip By Maggie Farrel

I was given this book by the author for a honest review.

About the book: (From Goodreads)

The voice on the wind.
The presence in her dreams.
The feelings she can’t control.

Sixteen-year-old Melissa has been diagnosed with Survivor Syndrome, the guilt of having escaped from a car crash in which her mother died.

However, when on holiday in the rugged moorlands of the English countryside, she begins to see and hear things she can’t explain. And so she must ask herself: are these also symptoms of her illness? Or are they signs that her mother is reaching out to her from beyond the grave?

My thoughts about the book:


I think the main dislike and downside of the ages. Melissa being 16 years old and Luke being 30 years old. Made me go hold on wait a minute. It could be me but when a 16 year old is hitting on a 30 year old and her dad does not notice makes me question the whole story. Lucky for us its just a story and not a court case I am reading in the news.Also underage drinking and drunkenness.

Lets get on to the good things I liked about the story. I enjoyed the caves and the dreams about her mother. I felt the author was spot on about the dreams. I also really like the ending.

Be warn I would not call this book a YA book. I recommend it to be read by 17 and older.

I gave this book 3 stars out of 5 stars.



 (Disclaimer:  Unless otherwise stated, all items in my blog posts have been purchased by me for my own personal use and not sent to me by companies for reviews.)

Leave a comment