Young Adult Book Review: Zodiac By Romina Russell

This book was the carpe librum book club book of the month for December.  This is a goodreads book group. I borrowed my copy from the Local library.  So lets get started.

This book is about Rhoma Grace, a 16 year old girl from the house of Cancer who after a attack on one of cancer’s planets becomes the leader of the house of Cancer. Their is a child legend about a 13 house and she has to prove that their really is a 13 house. Not only to the other 11 houses but also to her people of her own house.

It’s Percy Jackson meet Harry Potter with a splash of space thrown in.

My thoughts:

I felt it was good for a first book in the series. There are a few things that made me say what? The main character is not very well develop.  She is more like a 13 year old girl trapped in a 16 year old body.  She is very innocent. A normal person who has never in their life been train for a leader role would be scared. She was like no problem I am a drummer of a group. How hard is it to lead millions of people with their lifes in my hands.

So over all there was many face palm moment in this book. However the story has never been done before and I thought is was clever to have it center around the zodiac for that I am impressed.

I gave the book 3 stars out of 5 stars or 3 face palms out of 5 face palms.

 (Disclaimer:  Unless otherwise stated, all items in my blog posts have been purchased by me for my own personal use and not sent to me by companies for reviews.)

Leave a Reply

