Book Review: The Time Keepers By Jenn Bregman

I was sent this book for a honest review.

 

33950738

About the book(Goodreads):

A fast-paced thriller, The TimeKeepers plunges headlong into the depraved underbelly of Big Law and big money where greed is king, murder is incidental, and winning is the only thing that matters.

Attorney Sarah Brockman is young, idealistic, and naïve. Having left Big Law in search of work that would make a difference, she finds herself barely scraping by running her own personal injury law firm working for clients who can’t pay and pursuing causes she can’t win. Then a random horrific car crash shatters everything. Now she’s staring into the darkest shadows of the very system she’s dedicated her life to upholding, filled with corrupt judges, dirty cops and attorneys, offshore banking, massive fraud, and twists and turns through the highways and byways of Southern California, Mexico and the Cook Islands.

Facing off against a cunning and deranged adversary, Sarah is aided by a sharp-witted socialite, a felon and occasional crackhead, and a shameless Mexican raconteur. All while kindling a tender romance with Sam, her boyishly handsome new love, who has been following the same trail but from the other end – and the wrong side of the law.

Sarah feels invisible strings pulling her ever closer to the core of the conspiracy. But if she’s just a pawn in someone else’s game, are the strings being pulled for good or for bad? Or, even, both? And will she be on the side that wins?

 

My Thoughts:

What I loved about the book:

  • A main female character. I found a female lawyer was refreshing and a rare thing in books.
  • The book cover is awesome. I really love the skyline being over lapped with a analog clock. Really nice touch.
  • The case in the book is really interesting. No I am not going to spoil it for you.

 

What I didn’t like:

  • I felt the book was 60% romance and only 40% thriller. The book lost my undivided attention after chapter 13.
  • I feel the relationship between Sarah and Sam felted rushed and not real. It really felt like something the author shoved in there to eat up pages.

 

My opinion:

I do give Jenn Bregman  props for taking a chance on this book and see her writing style growing as a writer. This book to be honest was not for me. I would have love if the book kept the romance at 30% to 20% of the book. It would have made the book flow so much better.

However I am glad to had a chance to read a arc of this book.

 

I give this book 1 out of 5 stars. This book really was not for me.

 

(Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, all items in my blog posts have been purchased by me for my own personal use and not sent to me by companies for reviews.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

