YA Book Review: First Year (The Black Mage # 1) By Rachel E. Carter

Hello Everyone,

I got this book from the author for a honest review.

About this book:

This book is about a set of twins that have gifted magic abilities. They  decide to go to the magic school. The story follows Ryiah who wants to become a combat mage and earn her black robes.  There is a lot of drama. In the school they take lots of first years however only 15 students get to go on to the next year. 5 students from each clase type. The 3 class types are combat mage, healers and alchemy.

My thoughts on the book:

First of all I like to say I didn’t like the main character Ryiah. Personally I wish the story followed her brother Alex. However that being said I love all the minor characters. I enjoyed the story line and plot. I have a feeling this series is going to a love triangle. I don’t know how I feel about that yet. I also feel the main character was shown as more of the helpless female character then the strong female character we saw her as in the first two chapters. I will however continued the series. In hope of more character development by the main character.

Great minor characters not so get main female character.

 

 

I gave this book 4 stars out of 5 stars.

 

 
(Disclaimer:  Unless otherwise stated, all items in my blog posts have been purchased by me for my own personal use and not sent to me by companies for reviews.)

Leave a Reply

